Just to be clear I hate the musical Rent, but the subtle reference seems appropriate because that’s how I’m starting to see the remainder of my time.  Starting March 12, I have exactly 100 days until my Closure of Service (COS) and I am cut loose from Albania.  The countdown never stops.

Model United Nations
“The world as we have created it is a process of our thinking.
It cannot be changed without changing our thinking.”
-Albert Einstein

Last month 121 students participated in the 5th Albania Model United Nations.  This event was the culmination of 6 months of hard work in which students conducted research, held mock debates, and worked in teams to practice writing resolutions and position papers.  They debated issues on nuclear disarmament and development, human rights of migrants and the crisis in Syria, passing over 20 resolutions.

One of the highlights this year was, for the first time in the model’s history, we held the opening session in the Albanian Parliament.  Students from 14 cities across Albania, many of whom have never travelled outside of their city, got to sit in the legislative house of their country, in the seats of their political leaders.  When each stood up in turn to deliver their opening remarks, the pride they felt was palpable.

Parliament Shot

Norman
Molly Grue: Why won’t you help me? Why must you always speak in riddles
The Cat: Because I be, what I be. I would tell you what you want to know if I could, mum, but I be a cat. And no cat anywhere, ever gave anyone a straight answer.
The Last Unicorn (1982)

I just saw Norman’s mom skulking outside.  

DSC_0024

Last Saturday, I took Norman to be castrated. Overnight he had become a man, and that meant pissing everywhere and attracting all kinds of unwanted attention from neighborhood cats.  I had to lock him in the house for a week, a quarantine which ended on a beautiful day, perfect for airing out the smell of cat.  It has been stressful week for both of us what with the large number of guests I’ve had recently for Diten e Veresthe twice daily wrestling match to shove antibiotics down his throat, and the daily poop and piss clean up (why won’t you just use the litter box you ass?!).
We’ve had to reevaluate our ever evolving relationship.

1001260_10203208909045833_496050999_n

Closure of Service

Please don’t ask me what I’m doing.

